Iillustration 19276996 / Dirk Erck / Dreamstime
Illustration 60886103 / Kheng Ho To /Dreamstime
Illustration 19276996 / Dirk Erck / Dreamstime

Electrical People: NEMA Awards

Dec. 2, 2016
At the conclusion of NEMA’s 90th Annual Membership Meeting, Christopher Curtis accepted the Bernard H. Falk Award, NEMA’s highest honor.

Omni Cable (West Chester, PA): Chris Emmett was hired as Chicago regional manager where he will be dedicated to managing and growing that region. He brings with him over 20 years of experience in the electrical industry.

Acuity Brands (Atlanta): CEO Vernon Nagel received the Ernst & Young (EY) Entrepreneur Of The Year 2016 National Award in the distribution and manufacturing category. Now in its 30th year, the award recognizes outstanding entrepreneurs who demonstrate excellence and extraordinary success in such areas as innovation, financial performance, and personal commitment to their businesses and communities. Nagel was selected by an independent panel of judges, and the award was presented at EY’s Strategic Growth Forum in Palm Springs, CA, on Nov. 19.

National Electrical Manufacturers Association (Rosslyn, VA): At its 90th Annual Membership meeting, NEMA elected Michael Pessina, co-CEO and president of Lutron Electronics Co., as chairman of the 2017 Board of Governors. Additional officers include Immediate Past Chairwoman Maryrose Sylvester of Current, powered by GE, and First Vice Chair and Treasurer David Nord of Hubbell Incorporated.

In his more than 35 years at Lutron, Pessina has held senior roles including vice president of manufacturing operations, general manager of the Grafik Systems business unit, and executive vice president. He was appointed president in 2011 and has held his current position since July 2015. In addition, he is a certified senior quality engineer and a member of Lutron’s board of directors and  advisory council.

In addition to Sylvester and Nord, eight individuals were approved for three-year terms on the Board of Governors, ending in 2019: Raj Batra of Siemens Industry, Annette Kay Clayton of Schneider Electric, Theodore Crandall of Rockwell Automation, Amy Huntington of Philips Lighting, Daniel Jones of Encore Wire Corp., Philip Mezey of Itron, Inc., Andrew Quinn of ILSCO, and Mark Wingate of MVC-Maxivolt.

In other news  from the NEMA Annual, the 2016 winners of several key awards were announced: Dr. Roger Daugherty of Baldor Electric Co./ABB Group and James Wright of Siemens Industry received the Kite and Key Award; Reliance Controls Corp. received the Business Innovation Council (BIC) Illuminations Award; and Christopher Curtis of Schneider Electric accepted NEMA’s highest honor, the Bernard H. Falk Award. The Kite and Key Award recognizes industry leaders whose pioneering innovations epitomize the best in codes, standards, and advocacy.

A consulting engineer in the Advanced Development Technology Group for Baldor Electric, Daugherty, is passionate about motor standards. Since 1984, he has served on numerous committees, subcommittees, and working groups within the NEMA Motor and Generator Section.

Wright, the other Kite and Key Award recipient, participated in standards development for industrial control equipment for more than 50 years. As manager for standards and certification within the Siemens Digital Factory Control Products business, Wright has been active in the development and use of standards for industrial control equipment for electromechanical and solid-state products.

Reliance Controls Corp., was recipient of NEMA’s 2016 Illuminations Award.  Reliance is active in NEMA activities, holds more than 85 patents, and sells thousands of products nationwide, including more than 500 different kinds of transfer switch kits that help families and businesses survive power failures.

At the conclusion of NEMA’s 90th Annual Membership Meeting, Christopher Curtis accepted the Bernard H. Falk Award, NEMA’s highest honor. The award recognizes individuals with outstanding achievements in technology, management, public affairs, and other fields important to the electroindustry. Curtis, currently CEO of Wencor Group, was a member of the NEMA Board of Governors from 2008 to 2014 and chaired the board in 2014–2015. NEMA President and CEO Kevin Cosgriff described his colleague as one who “exemplifies honor, commitment, dedication, and great character, and is a steadfast supporter of the electroindustry.”

According to Lutron’s Pessina, Curtis demonstrates a unique leadership style.  “Chris not only has the ability to understand strategy, he never forgets about the different parties and influencers involved and makes sure we get the best solution for everyone,” he said.

Monster Electrical (Portland, OR, and Fairfield, NJ): Jim Clippard, the company’s long-time CFO, is retiring from the fuse specialist. Taking Clippard’s place is Nick Palmer, controller. Palmer brings a background in finance, accounting and customer relations.