Iillustration 19276996 / Dirk Erck / Dreamstime
Illustration 60886103 / Kheng Ho To /Dreamstime
Illustration 19276996 / Dirk Erck / Dreamstime

Electrical People: New board at IDEA and new leadership at EECO

Feb. 26, 2016
Mark Holmes to succeed Jack Lawson at helm of EECO, and IDEA releases its 2016 roster.

Electrical Equipment Co. (EECO), (Raleigh, N.C.):  Jack Lawson, the company’s president and CEO since Jan. 2001, will retire on June 30. Mark Holmes, formerly senior vice president of sales, has been named president-elect and will assume the role of president and CEO at that time. Lawson’s decision to retire will bring to a close a successful career spanning 33 years of continuous service to the company, its stockholders, and the electrical distribution community.

“I’ve been privileged to lead EECO through some very exciting years as well as a few challenging ones,” Lawson said. “But after more than 33 years with the company and fifteen years as its CEO, I’ve accumulated a long list of places I want to go and things I want to do. It’s time I started working on that list. EECO is in good health and our current leadership team is as strong as I could possibly hope for.”

Upon Lawson’s recommendation, the board of directors unanimously elected Holmes president-elect in preparation for his moving into the company’s top spot on July 1. Holmes has a 25-year tenure at EECO. He joined EECO in 1990 as an automation specialist, having previously served as a project engineer for Weyerhaeuser.

Founded in 1926, EECO specializes in automation, motor and electrical usage needs. The company has a total of 355 associates and operates 15 branches from Virginia to Georgia.

Industry Data Exchange Association, Inc. (IDEA), (Arlington, Va.): IDEA has announced its 2016-2017 board of directors and officers. Christopher Curtis, senior advisor, Schneider Electric, has ascended to the role of chairman, from vice chair, and David Rosenstein, president & CEO, Connexion, is now vice chair.

The IDEA board’s eight voting directors are appointed by the National Association of Electrical Distributors (NAED) and the National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA). The 2016-2017 IDEA Officers are: Chairman - Christopher Curtis, Schneider Electric; Vice Chairman - David Rosenstein, Connexion; Treasurer - Andrew Quinn, president, ILSCO;  Secretary - Rick Gigliotti, V.P., sales operations, WESCO Distribution; NAED-Appointed Board Members: Rick Gigliotti; Phil Hale, CIO, Elliott Electric Supply; David Rosenstein; Wes Smith, president, Mayer Electric Supply; NEMA-Appointed Board Members: Jack Carlson, executive V.P. and president, North American Business, Southwire; Ted Crandall, senior V.P. & CFO, Rockwell Automation; Christopher Curtis; and Andrew Quinn.